Epiphanyblog

All about ideas…

Daebak The Royal Gambler is daebak

with 2 comments

Great heavens, I’m really loving Daebak The Royal Gambler!

In Hangul, the word deabak means a jackpot. In other words, this drama is a winner. It truly is a jackpot.

It’s been a long time since I watched a show that engaged my mind the way Deabak does. The closest to it was SBS’s sageuk drama Six Flying Dragons. But Deabak is by far a better drama.

Every episode just gets better and better. My only complaint is that the episodes end too soon. I want them to continue. I don’t want to stop watching what happens next. Honestly, this drama is better – more captivating – than Six Flying Dragons (and DoS), and I didn’t think any current drama could beat Six Flying Dragons. Yet, Daebak has easily…and I’m not saying that as a Jang Keun Suk fan. I’m saying that as a fan of suspenseful, high quality, well scripted and directed shows.

One of my main problems with Kdramas is that after the first couple of episodes the dramas fall into lag as main characters begin to over-analyze or become paralyzed into inaction. They let opportunity after opportunity bypass while they figuratively suck their thumbs. Daebak, thus far, hasn’t fallen into that trap. The story is fast paced and the tension remains constantly high, moving from one event to another with just enough dialogue to keep the plot logically moving without it’s becoming tiresome.


For me at least, it’s like reading a Steve Berry thriller that combines both actual history and fiction to create a story that keeps the reader up all night reading. It’s more than engaging. It’s suspenseful and action-packed with a touch of humor and a just enough actual history to intrigue the mind of the reader. Or in this case, the mind of the viewer. I’m left after each episode – as with a well written chapter – wanting to know what happens next. I want to stay up all night with the story.


Of course, it doesn’t hurt at all that Daebak is extremely well acted. Nevertheless,  it’s the story – the plot – that draws my attention and makes me want to watch more and more and more.

Written by Valerie Curl

April 19, 2016 at 9:30 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re right, The only problem I find is that 60minuters feels too short, too fast and I’m left with the feeling of waNTING TO SEE MORE! Owww. I can’t wait to see ep 9. Our Dae Gil is turning into a tiger!

    Manuela

    April 19, 2016 at 12:48 PM

  2. Even after watching every episode more than 4 times..you are still left wanting more, left puzzled..and dying to know what will happen next ..
    Everytime you watch you see more and more…details, nuances, colors and (e)motions..but also understand the dialogues better and better
    The cinematography is amazing!!!…
    This is a drama to watch over and over again without getting bored…There are but few which even after watching 100 times..knowing how things ends, still can give you a feeling of anticipation)
    Daebak is everything you said…
    If one is looking for something light…a no brainer…this might not be it …that I agree..
    Everytime you think you know what will happen next…it takes another turn…very intriguing drama indeed

    Mamacri Chan

    April 20, 2016 at 3:21 PM


Leave a Reply

