Epiphanyblog

All about ideas…

The American Conservative: Not Impressed By Romney

leave a comment »

For a left leaning centrist, I’m beginning to wonder about either myself or about how far the conservative movement has to the right. Why do I say this?

Well, a couple of months ago, I was introduced to The American Conservative. As I began reading articles and commentary on its site, I realized how much I agreed with the various authors. They echoed many of my own sentiments. They were sane, sensible, logical, and could discuss topics based on data, facts, and history. I appreciated what they had to say.

I would be remiss to fail to note that the modern conservative movement of Romney, Ryan, Rove, Ailes, and DeMint have absolutely nothing in common with tradition conservatism as discussed on The American Conservative. The modern conservative movement is not traditionally conservative; it is a blend of religiosity, randian libertarianism, fundamentalist extremism, and blind ignorance of the plutocracy guiding it.

Now, far be it from me to hawk a website, but if I’m any example of a modern centrist Democrat or Independent, then my guess is those whose political beliefs are akin to mine have more in common with this site’s authors than do those who belong to the party of Ailes, Rove, Ryan and DeMint.

So, about that Presidential debate.

Romney and Obama in first 2012 Presidential Debate

[I]f you didn’t watch the debate, and read the transcript, what you’d see is the following. When Romney attacked, Obama generally had a policy response – some more persuasive than others, but the response was generally policy-related. When Obama attacked, Romney would generally deny that he took the position that was being attacked.

Romney’s palpable zest for the debate made him look like a guy ready to take charge, and the President’s demeanor suggested some willingness to let him do so. But his refusal to stand his ground on anything – and the marked contrast with the President in that regard – made him sound like a snake-oil salesman.

I guess it’s clear how the combination played for me. How it played for a low-information voter, I don’t know.

The American Conservative’s Daniel Larison put Romney’s performance this way:

If a viewer didn’t trust Romney coming into the debate, he said nothing to change that, but he didn’t make any major errors that can be used against him later. He is an unlikable candidate, and more people will still view him that way, but he didn’t make things any worse for himself.

That statement is probably true. Those who follow politics closely recognize that Romney obfuscated, misrepresented, distorted and lied throughout the debate. But will Romney change any minds? CNN’s undecided voters apparently are still undecided.

Leave a Reply

