Epiphanyblog

All about ideas…

Another Purchased GOP Attack on Moms and Families

leave a comment »

I don’t watch Rachel Maddow of MSNBC often. She’s a bit much for me. But I have to admit that sometimes she highlights actions certain members the GOP are taking on behalf of campaign contributors such as actually preventing American families from accessing a free online government provided database to protect their families from potentially hazardous products.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

As a mom and grandmother, I welcome the new consumer product safety database that is suppose to be effect now, but it won’t thanks to a Koch Bros. supported GOP candidate. For years, I groused to myself about not being able to find good reliable data on products so I know if what I want to purchase is safe for my children and grandchildren or even for myself.

The online consumer-product-safety database, allowing Americans to go online and access free information about the safety records of household products, passed the House unanimously, sailed through the Senate, and was signed into law by George W. Bush. But now Rep. Mike Pompeo (R) of Kansas, who just happens to represent the district in which the Koch Bros reside and who received majority funding from the the Koch Bros. who as we all know want to eliminate all regulations on industry, wants to slow down, if not completely defund, the database. As the Kansas City Star explained, Pompeo wanted to push off implementation “to give Congress a chance to make changes that both he and the business community would prefer” [emphasis mine].

How many assaults on the health and safety of women and families will it take before the American families say enough already? This issue isn’t about the budget or the deficit as funding for the database is extraordinarily limited to a couple of million for database construction. The issue is about preventing or giving families, and most especially Moms, the opportunity of learning what products are safe for their families.

I’m sorry Rep Pompeo, I really do want a consumer product safety database I can access to learn what products might be hazardous, or at the very least to unsafe, for my children and grandchildren. The way I look at it is that my family’s safety, health and welfare come well ahead of industry profits.

But then I’m a mom and grandmom.

Written by Valerie Curl

March 10, 2011 at 8:08 AM

Leave a Reply

