Epiphanyblog

All about ideas…

McCain: “In truth, I wanted to be president because it had become my ambition to be president….”

leave a comment »

“I didn’t decide to run for president to start a national crusade for the political reforms I believed in or to run a campaign as if it were some grand act of patriotism. In truth, I wanted to be president because it had become my ambition to be president. . . . In truth, I’d had the ambition for a long time.” – John McCain, 2002 memoir “Worth the Fighting For”

The more I think about this statement, the more it concerns me. It says his desire for the Presidency is ego-driven. It says his overriding desire is to fulfill his own self-interested ambition rather than the desire to help Americans.

His wanting to be President purely out of ambition, and not what he hopes to do for this great nation and her people, flies in the face of McCain’s oft-repeated statement of “doing something greater than yourself.”

The two statements contradict each other…and that is worrisome.

To repeat, he states, “I didn’t decide to run for president to start a national crusade for the political reforms…. In truth, I wanted to be president because it had become my ambition to be president….”

Do we really want a President who is in it solely to fulfill his own ambition or to guide the country safely through the enormous challenges facing this country?

Written by Valerie Curl

September 18, 2008 at 11:56 AM

Posted in mccain, Politics

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

