Epiphanyblog

All about ideas…

Some days I just shouldn’t be allowed on the computer!

leave a comment »

About a week ago, I downloaded the software updates recommended by my software update program. But something went wrong. When I logged in again as required by my operating system, following the download, my password failed to work. So, following the instructions for my OS, I changed my password. It still failed to work. I must have spent about 3 hours fiddling with passwords and user names, just trying to get into my system.

Finally, I gave up and shut down. My computer sat unused and inaccessible for about 3 days because I was just plain tired of playing around with it. You see, I’d come to the conclusion that the only way I was going to be able to use my computer was to reload my OS. What that meant for me, I guessed, was wiping my drive to clear away all aspects of my OS since changing my user ID and password appeared to require clearing off the current system.

Once my frustration passed, I tried a dozen times again to log into my computer. Again I used both my personal user name and the system admin user name as well as every one of the passwords to which I had changed and tried previously. Still nothing. So, grumbling loudly in my home office and thinking very nasty thoughts about software developers, I wiped my drive and reloaded my OS, gave myself a new user ID and password. Hurray; success. It worked.

But in the process I lost all my personal files, additional software, bookmarks–in short, everything. Years of files were gone in an instant.

Unfortunately for me, I don’t have a writable CD. Only an SCSI zip drive, and this OS won’t allow me to use a SCSI peripheral. That’s something else that has caused more than one curse word to pass through my lips. Here I have perfectly good SCSI peripherals that I can’t use! I might as well flushed that money down the toilet!!

But I guess what I kick myself more for is that I should have known something might go wrong with the software update. It’s not like this was the first time a software update caused problems. A couple of months ago when I last downloaded an update, I was forced to search out and obtain a couple of utility programs to fix all the conflicts that slowed my computer to a crawl. There’s nothing so much fun as to wait for 10 minutes for an email to open or to spend a half hour writing two short paragraphs. Yes, I’m being facetious.

Long and short of my thoughts, I should never have automatically downloaded those updates!

Written by Valerie Curl

June 3, 2008 at 11:17 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

